News and Updates

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Calcasieu Parish Police Jury Recognizes Parish Schools That Participated in the Parish Government Roadshow

Post Date:05/31/2019

On May 29, the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury recognized the nine parish schools that participated in the 2018-2019 Parish Government Roadshow.

A partnership between the Police Jury and the Calcasieu Parish School Board, this initiative has been in place for several years and allows elected officials and staff to go into schools to talk to eighth grade students about the importance of civic engagement and public service. Topics covered include litter prevention and promoting awareness of local government services and functions.

Approximately 1,500 eighth graders participated in the programs in the following middle schools: S.P Arnett (Max Calderera II, principal), DeQuincy (Denise Doyle, principal), LeBlanc (Gena Granger, principal), W.W. Lewis (Dan Sylvest, principal), Maplewood (Saberly O’Quain, principal), Molo (Shonna Anderson, principal), Oak Park (Martin Guillory, principal), S.J. Welsh (Bobby Jack Thompson, principal)  and Vinton (Adri LeBlanc, principal).

 Program liaisons Alberto Galan (Police Jury) and Dr. Dale Schanz (CPSB) worked together to schedule the assemblies. Police Jurors and the parish litter control officer were some of the guest speakers at the assemblies.

Parish Administrator Bryan Beam; Alberto Galan, Assistant to the Administrator; and Police Jurors Tony Guillory, Shelly Mayo and Kevin Guidry attended the recognition ceremony.

 Principals pictured, left to right, in each row: Max Calderera II, Denise Doyle, Gena Granger, group photo, Saberly O'Quain, Bobby Jack Thompson (not in photo), Adri LeBlanc and Dan Sylvest. Not pictured are Shonna Anderson and Martin Guillory.

Parish Govt Roadshow collage

Return to full list >>