News and Updates

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option

Calcasieu Parish Police Jury Sworn In for 2020-2024 Term

Nine Police Jurors sworn in for their first terms

Post Date:01/13/2020

Members of the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury were officially sworn in for their 2020-2024 terms Monday, Jan. 13, at a special organizational meeting held at 10 a.m. in the Parish Government Building. 

The Police Jurors represent 15 districts throughout Calcasieu Parish. Nine jurors are serving their first terms on the Police Jury. They are Ashton Richard, District 1; Mike Smith, District 2; Eddie Lewis, Jr., District 3; Ron Hayes, District 6; Anthony Bartie, District 9; Roger Marcantel, District 11; Joe Andrepont, District 13; Randy Burleigh, District 14 and Tony Tramonte, District 15.

Brian Abshire, District 5, is serving his first full term. He was elected in July 2017 to take over the seat of Nicholas E. Hunter, who resigned from the Police Jury after he was elected as the mayor of the City of Lake Charles. Joe Andrepont, District 13, was elected to the seat held by his father, Francis Andrepont, who has served seven consecutive terms since 1992. Tony Stelly, District 10, previously served on the Police Jury from 2004-2016.

Chief Judge Mitch Redd of the Fourteenth Judicial District Court administered the official oath of office. Once the jurors were sworn in, the Police Jury conducted its first official order of business by electing officers for 2020. Jurors elected Tony Guillory as President for 2020 and Brian Abshire as Vice President.

Tony Guillory represents District 4, which includes the City of Lake Charles area and portions of Ward 3. Currently serving his fourth term on the Police Jury, he is the owner and operator of Royalty Limousine and is also employed by Don Harris State Farm Insurance Company.

Guillory is an at-large member of the Executive Board of the Police Jury Association of Louisiana as well as Vice President of the Black Caucus of the Louisiana Police Jury Association. On the national level, he is the treasurer of the National Association of Black County Officials (NABCo), serves on the NABCo Legislative Committee and is a member-at-large on the Executive Board of NABCo. He's also a member of the National Association of Counties (NACo) and serves as a member of the Community and Economic Development Steering Committee.

Brian Abshire is serving his second term representing District 5, which includes part of Lake Charles area and portions of Ward 3. He is Commercial Banking Manager for IBERIABANK, is active in a wide range of civic and volunteer organizations and he has held leadership positions in many of them. The father of three children – Mason, Connor, and Shelby, Abshire is actively involved at Immaculate Conception Cathedral School, where all three children attend.

The 2020-2024 members of the Calcasieu Parish Police Jury are as follows:


District 1

Ashton Richard

First term

District 2

Mike Smith

First term

District 3

Eddie Lewis, Jr.

First term

District 4

Tony Guillory

Fourth term

District 5

Brian Abshire

Second term

District 6

Ron Hayes

First term

District 7

Chris Landry

Sixth term

District 8

Guy Brame

Fifth term

District 9

Anthony Bartie

First term

District 10

Tony Stelly

Fourth term

District 11

Roger Marcantel

First term

District 12

Judd Bares

Second term

District 13

Joe Andrepont

First term

District 14

Randy Burleigh

First term

District 15

Tony Tramonte

First term.


See the meeting video here:

Return to full list >>