Calcasieu Parish Police Jury History Archive

Press Enter to show all options, press Tab go to next option


Dr. Harriet Green served on the Police Jury in 1997 after the death of her husband D.C. "Chick" Green. Her memories include difficult decisions on the jury, her husband's famous wardrobe choices and more.  

S. Mark McMurry served as Parish Administrator from 1987 until 2010.  In this wide-ranging section he discusses the implementation of Gaming, Hurricanes, the restoration of the courthouse, and his predecessor, Rodney Vincent.

Mark McMurray Archive Video Button


Luvertha August served on the police jury from 1997 until 2003. She was appointed to fill the term of her late husband Allen August. She discusses his legacy, the accomplishments she helped achieve during her time on the jury including establishing a post office facility and public service annex in North Lake Charles and Hosting the National Association of Black County Officials conference in Calcasieu Parish.

Fred Godwin served on the police jury from 1972 to 1976, a time of great change. He was one of the leaders of the movement to reform parish government from the Ward System to the Unit System, which allowed for centralization of services. Godwin also discusses appointing Rodney Vincent as Parish Administrator, the construction of Burton Coliseum and establishing the parish library system.



Elcie Guillory served 17 years on the police jury - from 1976 to 1993 - helped prepare him for a long stint in the Louisiana House of Representatives. Guillory also recalls being one of the first three African-American police jurors in 1976 and getting approval for a major drainage project in his district.





Charles Liggio served from 1972 until 1995. He was a leader in the movement that reformed parish government, changing from the Ward System to the Unit System in the 1970s. Liggio also discusses passing the tax that led to paving most parish roads. He recalls the difficulties in establishing parish-wide zoning and discusses the acquisition of Chennault International Airport.



Dr. Charles S. Mackey was appointed to the jury in 1985, served until 2011. He then filled in as interim District 5 Police Juror from May-July 2017 to fill the seat vacated by Nicholas E. Hunter, who officially resigned from the jury after being elected as the mayor of the City of Lake Charles. Brian Abshire now holds the seat.

Mackey discusses being the only juror to serve with three parish administrators, the renovation of the historic courthouse and the decision by the jury to take over juvenile justice services. He also shows the ceremonial gavel he donated to the parish upon his retirement.